Does a pool add vaule? | Albuquerque, NM

12 Replies

I've come across a house that I am contemplating a rehab and sell.  The home is actually located in nearby Rio Rancho. The area is ok. The pool is not. New liner and equipment required (approx. $6k). My question is: do you think a pool adds vaule in the ABQ area? My realtor says, "not really and can be a real trick to sell". I want to lean on her expertise but would also love to hear alternate opinions.  We are not taking super high end home or neighborhood. This is a 1700 sq ft 3/2 that would list for near $150k. Thanks for the input. 

I don't know anything about your market, but agree with your Realtor. A pool in my area is definitely not a value add. 

Also having grown up with an in ground pool, I know first hand that pools are simply a pain in the ***. Did I have some cool experiences having a pool? Sure. But I can think of way more annoyances of cleaning the pool, draining the pool, chasing mice out of the empty pool, etc. Blah! Good riddance. 

For selling you have to keep in mind that you are shrinking your client base to those who are actively searching for a home with a pool or those who don't mind a pool yet won't pay extra for one.  Anyone who is against having a pool will not consider your property.  Still, I had a buddy flip a home with a pool without a problem.

As for a rental, I'd stay away from pool properties unless you are well insured.  The exposure is just too high for me.

Pools are great if it is at your friends house. Maintenance, liability, electricity cost are just some of the down sides. Never in a rental and maybe in a flip if the market desires it. It sounds like your market doesn't. Take your realtors advice.