Are Fix & Flips Going to Fade Away?

12 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm extremely new to real estate, just in my early days of getting educated, and I had a thought come to mind the other day. 

I've been listening to the bigger pockets podcast on my way to and from work and one of the episodes mentioned fixing and flipping houses as the income to buy rental properties. I liked that idea. 

Then I had a thought come to mind. More and more people are choosing to rent instead of buy, which makes me question if fixing and flipping is a good business model going into the future since according to the data, fewer and fewer Americans are purchasing homes. As much as I would love to fix and flip homes, the reality must be assessed. If fewer and fewer Americans are choosing to live in homes, then why would you choose to make your money off a product that fewer and fewer people want? 

Thanks, appreciate any feedback. 

If you plan to fix and flip millions of properties, then yes, the reduction in overall demand for housing will likely have an effect on your business.

But, if you plan to fix and flip somewhere fewer than a couple hundred properties, I can't imagine that a relatively small reduction in demand for housing will impact you.

How many houses do you plan to fix and flip?

No....and while it makes a for nice headlines that home ownership is at a decades record low...we are not talking about that big of a difference from year to year. The home ownership rate is at roughly 63%. During the housing bubble it reached a high of 69%, which is a historically over inflated number. If you go back to say 1995 you see a number of 64%. Even from the high of 69% to the low of 63%, we are only taking about a small 6% swing.

Promotion
Roofstock
Buy & sell single-family rentals online
Radically accessible real estate investing
Get access to exclusive property listings, proprietary data, and support to build your portfolio.
Learn More