Brrrr help!

1 Reply

Trying to evaluate an investment sfh rehab.  Initially wanted to flip however might be a good Brrrr property, cheap, needs rehab, out of state, and extremely confused over Brrrr calculator.  If I could trade a favor for anyone who can help me analyze this property, I would be eternally grateful.  I have some experience, but lack due diligence and proper analysis because I cant do math and have zero patience with numbers.  Zero.  More like less than zero.  I just want to fix up houses, I loathe the math.  Detest the math.  I hate math.  Plus I'm terrible at filling out forms. Can anyone help me?  Just this once?  To use the Brrrr calculator for this one property?  I tried but it says my monthly expenses are over $9000.  I don't get it.

Post up your basics on here. You need to know: purchase price, rehab costs, value after rehab (reasonable, based on good comps), reasonable rent achievable on the property, insurance & property taxes, HOA fees, age of house (for capex/maintenance estimates). That will give you a guidepost of how much cash flow you would have on the house if you bought it for cash. Take that number and subtract your holding costs (mortage principal & interest, closing costs, PMI, etc), and you can then figure out if it's a good flip or hold candidate or if you should walk away entirely.