BRRRR strategy question

9 Replies

First time with investing here in Upstate South Carolina and want input on how to go about the home I am rehabbing. 

The numbers:

112k purchase price (cash)

30k on updates and remodel

ARV recently went from the 180's to the 250's after a few solds in the area (I am a local Realtor)

Rent will be around 1250/mo +/-

I stand to make roughly $45,500 (see below to check my math)  on the refi which is fantastic, yet the mortgage will be a lot closer to the rental rate than originally planned and wanted to know if it would be silly to keep more money in the home for a safer cushion on rent/mortgage ratio, or take as much money out of the refi as possible to use for a second project.  

Hopefully appraised value at:

take out 75% = $187,500

- 112k purchase

-30k reno

= $45,500

Principal - Interest - Taxes - Insurance would roughly be $1150/mo and a 2/1 in this neighborhood brings 1200-1300 per month.

No matter what the ultimate ARV is appraised at, be it 200k, 225k, or 275k the question is to take out as much as possible for other projects or is there a fine line as to what to take out because of the rent/mortgage ratio? Thanks - hope this makes sense.

if the ARV is, in fact, in the 250k range I would seriously consider flipping the house all together and finding another house better suited for rental income. Doesnt sound like there much cushion in this onerent wise.

@Blair Boan , I agree with Justin. If the property ends up being worth TWO hundred times what the maximum rent would be per month (even though you only paid ONE hundred times its rental amount), then hey: it's flipping time!

Just to remind you: there's (many) OTHER expenses than just "Principal - Interest - Taxes - Insurance".

Which means, with your 75% LTV refi, you'll be PAYING (instead of receiving) money on average, every month!

General rule-of-thumb: Areas that only rent out for 0.5%/m of their VALUE are not for BRRRR; they're for flipping! My 2c...