Flipping Homes using a heloc

19 Replies

Hi,I am a remodeling contractor in the northern virginia area.I have been wanting to flip properties for a few years now and been thinking of using a Heloc on my personal property .I would like to get some feed back on your thoughts on this process ,as well as the pros and cons.I have been a contractor for 30 years and been thinking of shifting over into the home flipping business.I also hold a realtors license as well.Thanks for your time in advance

I am in the process of getting a HELOC now for this purpose. The HELOC is a low cost form of financing that is tax deductible to $100k in my case. I get 10 years to draw funds on what is otherwise a 30 year loan amortization. Payments are interest only. I will only pay interest on funds as they are drawn and can pay them back anytime during the loan term.

A potential downside is the rates are variable.  My rate looks like it will be 3.49%, but that will likely rise.  You might want to consider a home equity loan if you think you will want most of the funds at once and use them indefinitely.  The loan rate is a usually little higher, but locked in.

thanks James . I appreciate the input. I definitely want to check it out 

I use my HELOC as cheap gap funding. It gives me a 10 year runway to build capital in my business. I think its a great way to get a decent amount of capital to start off.

thanks Christofer, ya I think it will be what I need to get started . Thanks 

nothing, already turned in the paperwork, was just trying to get feedback 

@Elias Fahel

Everybody seems to think this is a great idea and I'd like to throw out the downside to this whole thing.