Closing and Holding Cost

6 Replies

Hey Guys,

Im a noob trying to get a good idea of any cost that might jump up in the middle of a project.

Are ALL of the holding and closing cost (buying and selling) usually financed through the hard money lender or whoever, or does some of or all of that come out of the investors pocket for a quick fix and flip?

Like points, interest, insurance, taxes..etc (anything)

Not sure of your question.

Are you asking if the lender gives you the funds that cover your closing costs? 

Hard money lenders will loan a certain amount of money for the rehab, and a certain amount for the purchase of the home. From what I've seen, all of the other expenses are on you. You'd have to pay for holding costs with your own money, and pay the loan to the hard money lender concurrently.

Originally posted by @Bob Okenwa :

Hard money lenders will loan a certain amount of money for the rehab, and a certain amount for the purchase of the home. From what I've seen, all of the other expenses are on you. You'd have to pay for holding costs with your own money, and pay the loan to the hard money lender concurrently.

I've never done a real estate deal but I really want to jump in the ring and get some experience. I've read the books, watched the videos, listened to the podcast, took the courses.... blah,blah,blah.  In my opinion, 99% of what is being taught is find a great deal, present it to the lender and they fund 100% of your project! YAY!  GC and subs go to work on your property and in 6 months you sell that sucker for a hefty profit. That sounds wonderful but the more people I talk to, the more I understand that isn't the way it goes and the actual out-of-pocket cost can get pretty high. In your experience, is it common or possible for the guy that has no experience, no savings, bad credit, living paycheck to paycheck to complete a fix and flip?