How often do you reconcile and record expenses?

71 Replies

Do record expenses and organize receipts as they come in, at the end of the week or month? Currently, I am doing them in excel as they come in but this proves to eat up a lot of time, sporadically throughout the day. 

Updated 7 months ago

Edit: Do you* record

Quickbooks.  Pretty much every night for 15 minutes or so...

@J Scott Thanks for your reply. I am on the fence of whether or not to pay for quickbooks as this is my first project. With your experience in mind, would you suggest sticking to excel for now and upgrading to quickbooks down the road?

Book keeper does his thing twice a week and reconciles monthly. 

I track 4/5 properties in excel as they happen. Don't really see a need for Quick books for me.

Originally posted by @Harry Williams :

@J Scott Thanks for your reply. I am on the fence of whether or not to pay for quickbooks as this is my first project. With your experience in mind, would you suggest sticking to excel for now and upgrading to quickbooks down the road?

Do you plan to use an accountant for your taxes?  If so, I would invest in Quickbooks, and have your accountant set it up for you and show you the basics of how to use it.

If not, and if you're comfortable doing your taxes based off the spreadsheets, then that should be fine.

Bookkeeper chiming in: 
I'd suggest scanning/digitizing your documentation as it comes in and then doing data entry into your accounting software at minimum once a week, more often as needed.  

@Nina Casey I do this more often than once a week, with my software being excel. 

@J Scott I do have a CPA who will do my taxes, and all they need are a list of my transaction by type. What does quickbooks cost per year anyway?

Originally posted by :

I do this more often than once a week, with my software being excel. 

Yes, I wasn't very clear - "more often as needed" was intended to mean "on a more frequent basis if needed"