Newbie Flipper Neeings Help With Analysis (Work Sheet Below)

24 Replies

Hi everyone

I'm doing some pre analysis on some houses and it seems to me things are a bit expensive especially in terms of materials and labor. I'm in the NJ market so that is to be expected.

I'm struggling with analysis mainly in trusting my numbers and actually finding numbers that work for me

-I've built in an safety net into my budget but don't know that it's enough

-I've assume some steep borrowing costs for myself being a newbie and not having a high income (5pts upfront and 15% interest lol)

-I'm struggling with picking the right number for a remodel. (I typically chose about $24-$34 per sq ft)

-MOST IMPORTANTLY - trusting comps that I'm pulling. I typically go on RedFin or Zillow but being that I've never done this before, I 'want to compare apples to oranges.

I've driven for dollars and have built a list of some potential addresses but now I need to figure out which one is a deal and which isn't. Should I be seeking to contact these people through the phone to see if they're interested in selling their home to an investor? Should I be sending letters? Should I contact a realtor? or Should I do the analysis first ?

Here is the data copied from excel that I use to do some of my analyses. If any experience flipper can share some knowledge and wisdom on the process, I would truly appreciate it. I can send the actual excel file through email if you want to see my calculations and assumptions.

Purchase Price $ 166,083.31  Year Built 1910
Realtor or Finders Fee $ -     Lot Sq Footage 0
Total $ 166,083.31     Sq Footage 1684
      Yearly Tax $ 10,000.00
Amount to be Borrowed $ 228,440.32     Bedrooms 3
Personal Cash Invested $ 35,216.66     Bathrooms 2

Pre-Inspections       Lip Stick $ 18.00
GC Quotes $ 700.00     Lip Stick Advanced $ 24.00
Lining $ 700.00     Standard $ 28.00
Inspection $ 600.00     Vandalized $ 32.00
Total $ 2,000.00     Big Gut Out $ 36.00