Out-of-State House Flipping Advice

16 Replies

Hey all,

I am very new to BP and real estate investing in general, so I would like to ask the community for advice on their experiences with Out of State House Flipping. For perspective, I'm a recent college graduate who currently lives in the Queens, NY area and I've been searching for homes in Connecticut and PA but have not any luck with affordability(100k or below). Does anyone have advice for a beginner? Horror stories and Success stories? Thank you!

Hey @Joe Vertuccio it seems that we are from the same area. Good to see other people from the area on BP too. This area is a tough market. What I did was I got my father (partner) to help me out. The market its self is expensive. Some advice would be to work as much and save as much as you can until you can afford a down payment where you would be able at that time hopefully to get a mortgage or loan for the rest. Thats what I am trying to do right now. If you haven't established credit yet I would definitely try to get a credit card to start establishing credit to get ahead of the game for when the time is right. Another thing I would to is try to find some the works in construction or anything to learn the in's and out's of the "Do it your self work" so when the time comes you don't have to pay for it yourself. Just some tips to maybe save some money down the road.

516-242-2365

@Joe Vertuccio I recently moved from CT to NY. I am having a very tough time landing a deal here to flip. Houses sell for quite a bit higher than I can make money on. I have shifted a bit of my focus back into the CT market where I was landing deals before. I have a bunch of solid contractors and some time to head back when I need to for oversight. I however am only doing this because of my contacts, and previous success.

Originally posted by @James Thomas Nakashian :