How can I make sure my offer is attractive?

8 Replies

I am putting in my first offer on a house rehab. The asking price is $250k and the ARV is $520k. Total repairs of around $150k. Holding costs at $20k. There is a lot of competition on this house. I am sure someone is going to make a cash offer that is attractive. Unfortunately I am not in the position to offer cash. I am going to put in an offer around $300k with no concessions but it will have an inspection clause and 7 day due diligence. Any advice? I'm very new to this so if I'm missing something major please let me know. Thanks

Maybe I am reading your numbers wrong? I assume this is a flip that you will resell, correct?

$520,000 ARV

- closing on the sale end is probably $35,000.

- closing on the buy end end, maybe $5000.

- your offer of $300,000.

- your holding costs of $20,000.

- your rehab costs of $150,000.

Unless I am missing other reasons you won't have these costs, I see you barely making any profit ($10,000). After taxes, maybe $6000. Is this house worth a tiny to zero profit? That would concern me more than how to make your $300k offer stick.

@Andrew P. there is only so much you can do. The best offer is cash with no inspection clause. If you are contingent on financing and inspection then your offer needs to be higher, which is your plan. I would make sure to include a letter from your bank with the offer. 

As @Brian Pulaski pointed out, the margin is thin at your offer price. My concern would be if you are new to flipping that you may under estimate expenses and that thin margin could turn into a loss. 

I would worry less about the competition and offer a price and terms that makes sense for you. You may lose the deal, but you may also win. A cash buyer may come in with a much lower offer. It is impossible to know, so just put the up the best number that you can make a good profit.