Retired veteran looking to invest

8 Replies

Hello my name is Keith and I am a recently retired Navy veteran with a burning desire to get into real estate investing. I am interested in rehabbing and flipping however I would like to see if I can share my two concerns.  Not being wealthy by any stretch and without much start-up capital, how realistically is it to start with little or no money.. I know the info commercials make it seem easy but I would like to hear from investors who are actually dealing with reality. Also is there a way to have buyers waiting for your property once it is finished to eliminate holding the property for a long period of time?  Any help with those two concerns or if you could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

Instead of trying to flip with no money you can use your VA loan benefits to buy a duplex or up to a fourplex. Live in one unit and rent the others out. I own a house in Texas that I bought with a VA loan thats rented out right now since i'm currently overseas. You can do a 0% down payment with a VA loan. The VA loan has a fee of $1,500 but you can wrap it into the mortgage on the house. My closing costs were under probably $1,000 but the house I bought was only around $75k.

@Keith Harper . Probably helpful if you would tell us where you currently located or where you want to begin investing. 

With that, we could probably offer more pertinent comments.

Wishing you steady and calm seas wit the wind at your back.