How to Prepare for a Career as a Flipper

13 Replies

Hello everyone, I am new to Bigger Pockets and this is my first post. My question is about how to prepare myself and gain the necessary skills to flip houses and fix up rentals for a living.

I am a sophomore in college majoring in business management. To be quite honest, every second of it feels like a waste and I constantly wonder if I should transfer to my local community college where I will be just a couple classes short of an associates degree. I have no desire to get an office job and climb the corporate ladder because I get very frustrated when I have to sit inside all day. I am very much interested in the construction side of flipping/renovating and love to get my hands dirty. I am much more handy than the average 20 year old and have undertaken some pretty big fixer-upper type projects with my dad at our house, but I don't know if I have all the skills to flip a house from start to finish by myself. Where do I start? Do I just go all in and get a fixer-upper and learn as I go? And am I crazy for feeling like the bachelor's in business is a waste of time for me? I am not sure if it is realistic or not for someone my age to just jump into flipping homes full time (or perhaps part time) as opposed to getting a traditional job.

Despite what you were told in high school, college isn't for everyone. I say that as a recently retired high school teacher. BUT, if you can stick it out for 2 more years, and get that BA, sometimes that degree opens doors for you that you never even realized were there. It worked that way for me. Listen, you want to flip houses, great, but this is a business, and you are majoring in business management. How about this, while you are finishing the degree, keep reading Bigger Pockets, and make a plan to put into place in two years. Need a job? See if you can do some construction work. That will give you some skills, and connections for when you start to flip houses.