Estimating Project Timeline

12 Replies

I am a beginner and attempting to set up some cost models for fix & flip properties. I am aware of the many costs, including holding costs. However, my roadblock is in determining the timeline. I am wondering if any experienced professionals have data (20+ datapoints) as to cost and time to sale on each of their properties. I know there will be a plethora of examples, opinions, exceptions and objections to the vagueness, but this is purely for a simplistic model and I am curious to see if there is some correlation. 

That way, if I walk through a house and estimate the cost of a rehab, I can also have the model return back this vague time-to-sale number and estimate my holding costs. 

Thanks! 

Dan

I would recommend not trying to tie the cost of the project to the schedule.  I can spend $10,000 in a day on certain tasks and $2,000 in a week on others.  

Instead, I would suggest creating an actual schedule for your project, with realistic timelines for each task.  This will also help you determine bottlenecks, dependancies and tasks that can overlap.

The BiggerPockets book on flipping houses has an entire chapter devoted to this topic, with a sample schedule for a typical large rehab.

@J Scott Thanks, I appreciate the feedback. I'll check out the sample you referenced. I understand the uniqueness of time and money for different activities. My goal is/was to come up with a quick calculator for a pre-screening type of tool as I'm sitting through leads. Creating a project timeline for every potential lead would take a lot of time.

Thanks again, I do appreciate it. Clearly not getting much feedback 😁 I assume most people who do have historical data use it for their own projections and estimating.

Dan

Originally posted by @Daniel Kramer :