What can I do myself to help reduce rehab costs?

15 Replies

Hey everyone, total noob here. I am getting ready to purchase my first investment and BRRR property that will require a gut. A primary reason why I decided to go this route was to get experience and exposure into rehabbing and fixing up a property.

Obviously for the bigger items such as plumbing, electric, HVAC, etc...I am going to leave it to the certified professionals to deal with (although I will try to learn as much as I can). 

Otherwise, in order to save rehab costs as much as possible, what items would you say I will be able to/should do myself? For example, putting down the flooring? putting in the drywall? etc...Any ideas would be helpful!

Thanks 

There are a million things you can do, Ahmed, including all the ones you mentioned. If I were you, I would get the book Renovation, now in its fourth edition, to get you started.

I'm a sand it and refinish or paint it kinda guy, so guts aren't in my sandbox.

But I have done enough to know I would NOT hang, tape and texure drywall.  It will take you forever and look like poop.

Your savings are going to be doing any plumbing and electrical work or prep. Dig the holes. Expose. Those guys and hvac are expensive. 

Do siding, windows , roof, landscaping,  etc maybe.  Depends. Are you like Jim and have been working with tools your whole life?  Never had more than a hammer in a kitchen drawer just in case?  Depends.

To echo @Steve Vaughan do NOT attempt to drywall yourself. If you attempt siding or roofing make sure that you understand how to flash everything so it doesn't leak. I personally wouldn't do my own roof and that is what I did in the 80's (framed / roofed / siding).  Life's too short to do that for a few dollars.  Let people that do it everyday do it.