Too renovate or to not?

8 Replies

I’m a newbie in Cleveland Ohio. A friend and I want to learn the skills of buying and rehabbing ourselves. So my question is should we buy a super cheap property and learn how to rehab as we go or should we do an apprenticeship and get a formal education for it?

I'm not sure how you get a 'formal apprenticeship' in rehab but it might be helpful for you to work with a GC or a successful developer to learn the skills. I think that perhaps you're in the novice stage of education so I think reading and doing some GC homework would help with the process. I don't think you should buy a property for the sake of renovation unless the numbers really worked as a flip or a rehab and rent scenario. 

The point of investing in any asset class is for you to create systems and processes for passive income flow, not to create another job for yourself. I see the value in learning those skills first hand but rehab skills is not imperative in making you a successful real estate investor. 

Originally posted by @Dametrius Clark :

I’m a newbie in Cleveland Ohio. A friend and I want to learn the skills of buying and rehabbing ourselves. So my question is should we buy a super cheap property and learn how to rehab as we go or should we do an apprenticeship and get a formal education for it?

Getting a job on a construction crew is a great way to earn whild you earn. Just don't expect the rest of the crew to go out of their way to teach everything to you. #1 priority will be the jobs at hand & learning will be slow. You're gonna need to put in your licks, but with patience & a good work ethic you'll learn an invaluable set of skills for this business.