Can I Flip Houses For A Living Right Out of College?

9 Replies

I am going to graduate college at 21 next year and plan on jumping right in on flipping houses as my main source of income.

In addition, I plan to work a part time job in order to keep saving money and help offset my monthly living expenses until I'm flipping enough to live comfortably on that income alone. 

Is this a wise decision? Or should I get a more stable job and work more hours and in return only work on flip houses in my off time. 

Any advice is appreciated. 

@Anthony Caraballo I’m not a flipper so take it with a grain of salt. I’m not sure what your degree is in but going this route pretty much makes the degree useless since you won’t be using it. Flipping also takes time and money. So unless you have a big cash reserve starting out, you will he burying yourself in debt with hopes of a big return from the flip multiple months down the road. I strongly recommend against this route.

@Anthony Caraballo
Spend your time this year educating yourself on costs to do so, J Scott has excellent books on this. Then, make sure you have a team assembled to take on the projects and develop a system in place. Of course, you will need capital and reserves so make sure you save up some money. Lastly, have contingency plans and exit strategies in place. Good luck!

Originally posted by @Anthony Caraballo :

I am going to graduate college at 21 next year and plan on jumping right in on flipping houses as my main source of income.

In addition, I plan to work a part time job in order to keep saving money and help offset my monthly living expenses until I'm flipping enough to live comfortably on that income alone. 

Is this a wise decision? Or should I get a more stable job and work more hours and in return only work on flip houses in my off time. 

Any advice is appreciated.