Potential Partnership Structure

20 Replies

So, I may have found myself a financial partner. Basically, he has all the money, and I have all the time.

He currently owns 18 properties and is a Doctor, with very little free time.

Basically, I proposed to him that we could start out with a small, cheap flip- where I would find the deal, off market or on market (I am a full time realtor) and I would manage the entire flip from beginning to end, then could list the property since I am a realtor too. We would be looking in the Philly market.

How would you recommend structuring this partnership?

Personally, I believe in 50/50 partnerships most of the time. You couldn't do the deal without his money, and he couldn't do the deal without your time. Also, if you plan on partnering with this individual long-term, I think a 50/50 will induce less strain on the relationship.

@Miller McSwain I agree. He proposed the idea of structuring it so that he gets 10% return on his total investment since he will be funding the entire deal- then we split the profits 50-50

You need to find what makes you most comfortable. If your partner values your contributions at 50%, then you should make it a 50/50 split. However, I have seen people commonly factor the "money partner" as a 70% partner. The laborer partner or operator typically gets 30% of the deal in these deals. 

simple! offer him a preferred interest payment for using his money.......on the net....then split it 50/50.

so if he put up 100K.....

you net 100K....

lets say you offered him 10% on his money......after his initial investment was given....he would be owed 10K out of that 100k Net.....then it would leave 90K.....yaw would then split the 90k 50/50.......

so in the end he would have 55k.....and you would have 45k.......because you offered him 10% interest on his money