Low low interest $5m loan... Now what?!

13 Replies

Long story short. I have a duplex rental and a single family house. Getting divorced and the wife gets the house, I get the duplex as far as assets.

I am an architect during the day and have been doing high end and deep remodel/additions at night. I typically aim to make at least $100k per flip.

I love flipping but it was an always a means to buy more rentals. Buying rentals in the Utah market right now is hard with the high purchase costs so I have yet to buy more than my duplex.

However, I found a loan with less than 1% interest that I will be closing on in about two months. My question is what would you do given my scenario? Right now I plan on doing a few flips simultaneously but I'm torn on what to do about the rentals and how to maximize my loan over the 7 year term.

Do I pay off my current properties and find good deal properties and pay cash up front? Or do I find the good rental deals and finance them with loans to keep my equity?

My ideal situation is to pay back the entire loan and interest over the 7 years as well as having a minimum of $20k/month in cash flow.

Curious to hear what you think I should do or what you would do if I were you! Go!

@Drew Whitehead

I think the biggest opportunity is in 30-100 house portfolios, local owners who've had them for 20 years and are near the end of depreciation. With a $3-5M loan you're perfectly positioned for that kind of purchase at 75% ARV. 30-100 is bigger than the average Joe can take down, and smaller than a Big Outfit wants to deal with. Property management will be very interested to do a good job and give you a lower mgmt fee. That's your niche.