Finding Good Contractors

9 Replies

Hello BP Members,

I am a CPA in PA looking to invest in Residential RE in Philadelphia and the surrounding area. Knowing that Real Estate requires a team effort, I have been compiling a base of contacts including lenders, realtors, appraisers, wholesalers, and contractors. However, finding trustworthy, reliable contractors has been a bit of a pain point.

Would love to hear how you are sourcing good contractors and what you do to retain them / motivate them to align your goals with theirs.

- Mark

Sounds like you've built up a network of people you already know, like, and trust. Why don't you ask your lenders, realtors, and other contractors? Referrals from good contractors, investors, or real estate professionals is the best way to find them. 

"Rockstars know other rockstars."

The best way to retain them or motivate them? Pay them on time and be easy to work with.

Honestly, I am in the same boat within Philadelphia. Issues being the good contractors have consistent work and thus are taken. I'm not sure if you have tried the home depot method, but visit home depot in the morning when they open and get information of contractors supplying there. Hopefully one lands for you. 

I personally have searched facebook, craigslist, yelp and even googled and have come across the same issue of unreliable contractors. I have even obtained bids and agreed to pay their price, only to have them bail and suddenly disappear. However, if you need a licensed electrician, I do have a contact! Just connect with me!

Originally posted by @Mark Edler :

Hello BP Members,

I am a CPA in PA looking to invest in Residential RE in Philadelphia and the surrounding area. Knowing that Real Estate requires a team effort, I have been compiling a base of contacts including lenders, realtors, appraisers, wholesalers, and contractors. However, finding trustworthy, reliable contractors has been a bit of a pain point.