Advice needed on first house flip!

4 Replies

Newbie here in Minneapolis looking to flip my first house, but it is bank-owned and I need to move quickly.

I am young and have not owned any property before. Will $10,000 be enough for a down payment on a $169,000 bank-owned house? Where is my best option for getting pre-approved for a mortgage? Any recommendations for a good real estate agent in the north metro?

I'm hoping to be able to get a mortgage for $210,000 so that I have room for $40-50,000 in renovations.

I'd honestly say you arent ready if you dont have financing lined up, dont know how much to put down, or have any sort of support lined up. The urgency of having to move quick will quickly come undone if you havnt done a TON of research and planning, especially on your first deal.

Why do you think its a deal? Do you have data on the neighborhood? Do you know what has sold in the last 6 months so you arent overpaying for a property? Do you have an idea on ARV (hopefully its $300k based on your $210k all in price)? Comps? Met with contractors or know the rehab costs to within 10% error? Have financing? Know your holding costs? Know the permitting process in your city? Know the Occupancy inspection process in MNPLS?