Questions you should ask contractors

9 Replies

Here's the questions I generally ask a new contractor that I've never worked with before:

What Are The Contractor's Qualifications?

How Long Has The Contractor Been In Business Or In The Construction Industry?

​​This one is misleading because the company could be new, but the contractor could have 10 years of experience, so be sure to find out how much construction experience the contractor has in the industry.

What Is The Contractor's Average Sized Project?

​It's important to find out the scale & scope of work for the Contractor's typical project. Does the contractor typically only work on small bathroom remodels or are they qualified to manage a full rehab project?

What Trades Does The Contractor Typically Self-Perform? What Trades Does The Contractor Typically Subcontract?

Will the Contractor be self-performing the work or hiring other contractors to perform the work? It's important to understand who will be performing the work on your project and making sure that the subcontractors your contractor are utilizing are qualified, licensed & insured as well.

Does The Contractor Have A Portfolio Or References?

Project Portfolio

Ask your Contractor if they can provide a portfolio of past projects that highlights the Contractor's quality and craftsmanship. Your Contractor should be able to provide marketing materials or a link to their website where you can see photos of their completed projects.

Reviews

Check for reviews online for your Contractor to see what other past clients are saying about the Contractor:

• Google Reviews
  • Facebook Reviews
  • Thumbtack/Houzz/Angi
  • Better Business Bureau

What's The Contractor's Availability?

What Other Jobs Is The Contractor Currently Working On That Could Affect Your Project?

​Ask your Contractor what other projects they currently have going or planned during your project to understand how your project will be prioritized.