House Hacking in Baltimore

12 Replies

Hello Everyone! 

I am new to Bigger Pockets but am very interested and excited to begin my real estate journey. I would like to get started by doing a house hack in Baltimore City. I currently rent in Baltimore City and commute to the County for work. Ideally, I would like to purchase a multi unit property but I am not opposed to the idea of a single family home and renting out the additional bedrooms. 

I was wondering if anyone had any advice, insight, or suggestions they would like to share on house hacking in Baltimore? 

Thank you!

Josh

Hi @Joshua Bond

I am in a similar position that you are and am deciding how I want to get started.  If you can get a duplex that the numbers work that is a great way to get started.  However, I am also considering a live in flip.  I have the skills and the resources to do the work myself which will help save money, but I don't have the capital to purchase a duplex in my area.  Prices are extremely high and rents are the best in my area, so the numbers don't work right now.  There are several houses that need to be fixed up and if things go well I can use the profit (if things go well) to be my down payment on a rental property.  So the live in flip would kind of act like a spring board to get me where I want to be.  I would definitely suggest @Scott Trench 's book set for life if you haven't read it yet.

Hello! Welcome to BiggerPockets and thank you to @Jared Baker for the plug!

My brother actually lives in Baltimore and is currently house-hacking, perhaps to be looking for his second property shortly. He is a legend, and has done well on his first purchase in Canton. So, I think it can definitely still be done.