Exit strategy: short sale or subject-to then purchase non-performing note

4 Replies

I am currently working with a probate lead. I am in Texas. There was no will.

The administrator assigned to the estate is the mother of her deceased son. There is no money in the estate and the administrator is elderly, living on a fixed income. She cannot afford the mortgage. She doesn't expect to see any money in the process. She just wants this house gone.

The property is 30 months behind on the mortgage, but a sale date has not yet been set. I already have a 3rd party authorization from the administrator of the estate and talked with the lender (big bank) yesterday. I am also a Realtor. I'm thinking of two different strategies and would like to know which you think is best, advantages / disadvantages of each:

A) Offer the lender a cash purchase of the property under a short sale

B) Offer the administrator of the estate a subject-to then offer to purchase the nonperforming note with cash from the lender

Thanks for your input!

Has the admin opened the probate, been assigned as Admin by the court/given powers? Typically, that requires a retainer from the attorney and court fees.   Most admins with no money don't spend money to probate an estate with no money.  

I think your chances of buying the note are very small. If your Admin has powers to sell, I'd work the short sale angle. You'd think that a deceased borrower on an upside down property would be enough motivation for a lender to work the short sale.  But don't be surprised if you get asked for all kinds of hardship documentation and stuff typically required of a living borrower.

Thank you, K. Marie.