Newbie Tax Lien question!

7 Replies

Hey, guys! I've got a little capital that I want to invest, and have read a lot about investing in tax lien certificates. What's the absolute best way for a total newbie to get started? Thanks!!

Have you selected a market?  If so, then go to the auction after you've researched 20 or properties.  Put down your max bid on a spreadsheet.  Observe ... once or twice and meet others.  

If you haven't selected your market(s), then start there.

Rick

Rick made some good points.

Know your county and State laws as pertaining to tax lien certificates.

There is a difference between tax liens and tax lien certificate. Each

State is different. 

Go to counties that are not heavly populated as the competition is less.

Know what the right of redemption period is.

Do you have to pay cash the day of the auction?

Whatever properties you are going to bid on visit them first. I made a list and

visited 20 properties, one was a burnout an another was condemned by the county.

Call the day before the sale to whoever is conducting the sale to make sure the properties you are going to bid on have not been redeemed by the owner at the last minute.

Some counties will list properties for sale and pull them at the last minute because the owner is a Senior citizen and got last minute reprive.

Craig, a lot of good points have been made above. However @Boyd McClean, I think waiting until the day before the sale to contact the auctioneer is a bad idea. You should do it sooner than that. Here's why:

1) You may need to register for the auction ahead of time. The county I work for can process registrations rather quickly, however there could be a hang up that may take a few days to resolve. 

2) this is a continuation of one, some counties will not process registrations after a certain date, example Travis County (Austin, Tx) will not accept registrations any later than 10 days before the sale. Check the counties in NY and what they require.