Finding A Note Buyer

14 Replies

Hello All, 

I have successfully found a buyer for my owner financed home in El Paso, Texas. This was a great way to move the property quickly. However, I am considering selling the note as soon as we close, there is a very small gap between what I owe, and what I hold on the note. Therefor, I believe it would be in my best interest to sell the note. Where should I look to find someone to purchase this note from me? 

Expect to take a pretty good discount, depending on if the loan was properly underwritten/executed, LTV, buyer's credit history, etc., especially without a 6-12 month payment history.

@Eric Giovannucci  

Agree with @Wayne Brooks   as your note isn't seasoned enough to fairly gauge the net present value using all facts of the note. We buy notes once in a while and reading your narrative makes me think that you would have to pay me to acquire the note. LOL It's just not ready to sell.

Bill P. I am sure its fairly obvious I am new to Notes. I just got some guidance concerning payment histories and holding for a period of time to show on time payment. I think holding for 6-12 months would be in my best interest. 

there is a very small gap between what I owe, and what I hold on the note.

Are you saying you're wrapping an underlying mortgage with this new note?  If so, you would need to sell the note for at least the amount you owe so you can pay off the underlying loan.  Or kick in some of your own cash to make up the difference.