Self-Servicing a note.. agree or disagree?

8 Replies

Hi all...

I know someone who has purchased a few np-notes and he "self-service" them instead of hiring an actual servicing company. I have recommended him to use a servicing company but he says that it is NOT a law requirement to have one. The notes he has purchased are usually in the final stages of the foreclosure, some already have judgments, and some even have sale dates.

I feel safer using a servicing company but my question is... is it required to hire a servicing company if you're a private investor, or can you do it yourself if you know what you're doing?

I'm only a student of notes investing and by no means an expert but from MY understanding of the situation it is now a requirement.

But no need to listen to a student when there are many true experts on the board:

@Dion DePaoli  @Bill Gulley  

I just returned from a 5 day Noteworthy Conference where there were two vendors selling self-servicing software. And there were a couple of attorneys speaking in sessions about why self-servicing is a really bad idea due to the constantly changing landscape of regulations at the state and federal levels. Too many ways to miss deadlines or say the wrong thing to a borrower - especially ones in financial trouble, BK, etc.

Also there are regulations that allow people or entities to self-service up to XX number of loans at a time or within a year, after that level is reached they must get licensed, bonded, etc.

To prove its reason for existence, the CFPB is looking for examples to pounce on - and for what? To save a $25 servicing fee or a $95 loss mitigation/negotiation fee per month? No thanks.

Takes a fool to service his own note. You might be exempt, you're not exempt from standard practice and standard practice will be what is usual and customary is. How do they find that? By looking to what is done in the industry......think they are going to call Joey and ask him what he does? Really?