Good sources of further education for note investor?

13 Replies

I have been doing hard money lending for a few years though hard money brokers which source and set up the loans for me to fund. I have not gone out and purchased any existing notes yet, I have just funded new loans. What are the best education materials to further my knowledge? Materials with a lot of DETAIL on all the due diligence that has to be done, everything that can go wrong, examples of what has gone wrong, details on making sure all the paperwork is bullet proof, etc... I'm more interested in materials that focus on the note investing side of it, not as much note brokering. Since I'm doing most of my HML in CA, I read the George Coats book "Smart Trust Deed Investing in California" which had some good detail but is an older book (1991). I want to keep furthering my education so I can mitigate my risks as much as possible on these investments I'm making. Thanks for your suggestions!

NoteSchool by Eddie Speed is an amazing resource. Its a training program, not a book or just materials, so it may be a bit more than you are looking for. However, if you want to work with and learn from the nations top note investors, it is the program to be in. I am a student of theirs, and buying a few notes a month right now. 

Kevin

I would first of all tell you to read Gordon Moss book Performance Anxiety which you can find on Amazon. He specialize in 2nds. He also has a mentoring program.

Note school by Eddy Speed has material on the subject.

Papersource University.com

PPR.com.

I am sure that others on BP will have their own recommendations.

Don't expect to get all your needs satisfied at one source.

Some of the above are pricy in nature and you may want to seek others for feed back.

You will find more opportunity outside CA and higher returns.

Also go to events sponsored by some of the above mentioned.