winning a florida tax lien...is it even possible??

9 Replies

I've been studying Florida tax liens (certificates) for 6 months now.  I've read and reread Statute 197 (the legal go to).  I'm ready to make bids on a particular counties' auction which has 2,700 properties up.  In comparing previous years certs, I've found that many of the winning bidders are large corporations.  In my studies I've learned that these large corporations create dozens upon hundreds of subsidiary companies to bid in a sort of umbrella fashion, doing so by flooding the auction site with bids to ensure success, and in turn bidding down the percentage rate (it doesn't matter that they are getting .25% return, because they bought 800 at a time type mentality).   

True, many will wait for the certs that go unsold and are struck to the county to avoid the bid war, but in this particular county, these properties are truly the bottom of the barrel.

So my question is this - It is actually possible for me, little old just me to have even the slightest chance of competing, and winning?  Is there a strategy to implement to increase my odds?  (ps, this is an online auction where upon you may bid on a property the moment the list comes out, which it did today)

Thanks!

Probably, but I've never thought it worth the effort, and the risk for maybe 5%.  You realize that if you do win one, and want to get paid back later if the owner doesn't redeem, you have to pay off all the other tax certificates on that property and the fees to send it to the auction.  So assuming it does sell for enough at then unctions on over all the certificates, you may have had to put up 3-5 times your initial investment just to send it to the auction, to hopefully collect your investments call, and your interest.

Thanks for your reply Wayne.