• Real Estate Investor
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Votes |
Purchasing a Tax Deed Property

Nathan Cao
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Posted Aug 3 2008, 10:45

Hello Everyone, i'm quite new to RE and i'm looking at my 3rd deal which is a duplex. The owner acquired the property through tax lien foreclosure over 2 years ago and has been renting it out. We've been in the negotiation process and he told me that i should call my bank first to see if they're ok with Tax Deed Title. The owner told me that if i purchase the property, the title company has to do extensive title search and convert the "Tax Deed" into a "Warranty Deed". I'm not so familiar with this and i'm wondering if there are anything else or other risks i should be aware of? Thanks

-Nathan

User Stats

Votes
G.D. Haizlip
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
  • Atlanta, GA
Replied Jun 22 2008, 12:17

Hello EquityNCashFlow,

There are a few items to beware of (no reflection on the Tax Deed Holder/Owner).

First, you can do a little research on your own by making sure that the owner is the actual owner of Record. The County Courthouse will have the information on file for you. There should be a Tax Deed in the records bearing the name of the Deed Purchaser/Current Owner.

Next, basically the Tax Deed Holder did not bother to Clear the Title after acquriing the property from the Tax Sale for a future sales transaction, which requires Title Insurance/Warranty Deed to transfer it to you as the new owner. This is particularly important if you are financing the property through a Bank/Credit Union; so, since you are now expressing interest in buying it, a Title Search has to been done by a reputable Title Company in order to receive a Warranty Deed. You should be able to get Title Insurance IF title clears.