What is a Balloon payment?

5 Replies

I'm new to RE investing and have found an interest in Performing and non-performing notes and am currently trying to absorb as much as possible on the subject. I have been reading a lot of forum posts and listened to a few podcasts on Note investing and am getting a better grasp on how it works but i keep coming across the term "balloon Payment". Can anyone explain what that is / how it works / and why it's beneficial. 

The help on this blog is wonderful and i recommend podcast #28 to anyone trying to learn about investing in Notes!

@Zachary S.

A balloon payment is an oversized payment which is generally posited at the end of the loan term.  It's used frequently in commercial and sometimes on owner finance loans to force a payoff and/or refinance.  For example, the lender may define the loan term as 10 years but setup payments on a 30 year amortization.  In this example, regular payments are based on the 30 year amortization but the final payment is the total unpaid balance at that point. 

Originally posted by @Zachary S. :

I'm new to RE investing and have found an interest in Performing and non-performing notes and am currently trying to absorb as much as possible on the subject. I have been reading a lot of forum posts and listened to a few podcasts on Note investing and am getting a better grasp on how it works but i keep coming across the term "balloon Payment". Can anyone explain what that is / how it works / and why it's beneficial. 

In most circumstances a balloon payment would be a final payment paying off the note before the monthly payments would pay it off. 

The benefit to you as an investor would be a higher return than a fully amortized note.