2nd Lien Non Performing Notes and Bankruptcy

19 Replies

As I educate myself on Notes, I would love to know what are some of the strategies and due diligence requirements when looking at 2nd Lien NPN and chapter 7.

Here is an example:

Sale Price: $8k

UPB: $100K

Property Value: $290k

Sr Balance: $400k

Sr Status: Unknown

Chapter 7 Bankruptcy / Discharged

So the property is definitely under-water and there is no information on whether payments are being made to the senior loan. My questions would be:

1. If the Sr is not reporting any payments, is there any other to confirm if payments are being made to Sr or a loan mod is being worked on?

2. Assuming payments are not being made, is it pretty much a worthless deal because most probably Sr will foreclose and wipe out 2nd lien?

3. What are some other strategies and due diligence one should do for a deal like this?

Would welcome any thoughts as I am just starting to learn this area.

Not even close to having any equity, discharged in bankruptcy, 1st is in default.....sounds like no value to me.  Unless both the borrower and senior lien holder are interested in working out a loan mod there's no chance of you recovering a dollar from your investment. 

Perhaps it would be better to spend $5,000 taking someone's NPN course rather than $8,000 getting "an education" on what is-and isn't - a good note investment.

You'll have the knowledge for a lifetime. 

I have a friend who does a lot of 2nd notes and it seems he's rarely able to get them to reperform. Usually, the play he makes is to get equity in the deal, basically, if the 2nd is above water, then there can be a big margin (although getting that money out isn't easy). 

With this loan, the 2nd is so far underwater I can't see any reason to go after it. The market's not going to appreciate that much any time soon and you don't really have a viable threat to foreclose as it would do nothing for you. I would pass. 

Hi Tehseen,