holding notes in different states under one LLC

6 Replies

Hello all,

I'm new in the notes business and I have an opportunity to buy a pool of 4 notes in different states. I'm wondering whether it's possible to keep all of them under my LLC which is in Florida. It means that I will not pay any state tax for them although they are located in states where there is tax.

thanks

There is no problem holding notes secured by collateral properties in different states in a single business entity (LLC). The income you receive is taxed based on the location of your business entity, not the location of the collateral properties securing the notes.

Promotion
Vacasa
Vacation Rental Property Management
We do the work. You get the ROI.
We do it all for your vacation rental. All—marketing, pricing, guest requests, housekeeping & more.
Free income estimate

So as not to over generalize I would ask a CPA before extrapolating that part about where the biz entity is based. I think it's where you earn the income that matters as well as where you reside. In your case your fine because you live in Florida but I don't think I could live in PA for example (income tax state), set up an entity I Florida (no state income tax) and hold a note in NY (income tax state) and expect not to pay income taxes. I believe its based on the states where you are earning the income (so the 4 different states you are holding the notes) in addition to your state of residency. But CPA advice is welcome here

This is an interesting question.  I had been avoiding buying notes in a state where I am not already paying state income tax (due to rentals in the state).  If it is solely dependent on where I live, I am glad to be in Texas!