Struck Off Properties - Texas

8 Replies

Hi all,

I'm evaluating some struck off properties in Texas, and one in particular caught my eye. The county is asking $32,000 as the minimum bid; the judgment was in 2010, and the property was struck off the tax roll in the same year. The assessment at the time (as now) is $180,000. The entity which held the property (vacant land, zoned residential) had a warranty deed as of 2010. 

I'm wondering what potential pitfalls there might be to buying the property outright? It seems to be a great deal - the redemption period has passed, and I understand most liens will have been removed by the tax sale (still plan on doing a title search as part of the due diligence). With the judgment occurring in the same year as the strike off, I doubt there's significant post-judgment taxes owed. 

This seems like a great deal overall, but it makes me wonder why this property was passed over during the auction? I'm new at this so any feedback would be tremendously helpful.

Ryan

Ask the tax assessor if there are any issues with the title. I have found them to be very helpful and willing

to provide any information about the property they have.  If it is in the city limits make sure zoning requirements have not changed.  Maybe the land use restrictions have changed for that piece of property. I live in Texas and have bought tax sale properties both current and struck off. It has been my

experience that a property struck off that long ago with that kind of spread between minimum bid and assessment value has some type of major problem. due diligence, due diligence, due diligence

When you buy it you own it no refunds

Good Luck

John