Requirement to register with state after too many owner finances?

9 Replies

This isn't a pressing issue for me, but want a bit of clarity before logging it away to memory for future sake. I'm working on my Florida real estate pre licensing courses, and one sentence that was sort of glossed over without the law cited stood out to me: "Property owners who sell and carry the loan on more than two properties in two years may need to register with the Department of Agriculture as loan originators" While this has very little to do with being a commission agent, I'm also planning to build a personal investment portfolio. I know owner finance is always an exit strategy to consider down the line, but would doing it three times suddenly cause all sorts of red tape being a "loan originator". If so, it seems a bit excessive since you aren't actually transferring any funds anywhere. It would be easy to just simply ensure you didn't owner finance more than two in two years, but it's a detail I'd never heard mentioned before in owner financing on the sellers end. Thanks in advance for helping my curiosity after a few hours of study!

Can you please give more info on this? I am not familiar with it. I know DF can have pitfalls, but your post is news to me. What book are you getting the info from? Thanks. 

Yes, it’s intended for RE investors doing the Lonnie Deal type business. The 2 in 2 years limit helps the average homeowner doing an occasional owner finance. BTW, getting the MLO license is only like a 30-40 hour course.

Is this a federal requirement or specific to Florida? And I'm guessing this is outside of DF...you still have to have underwriting for the two?
I posted something about DF last night and was kind of wondering where that left regular homeowners that offer seller financing out of necessity to sell a house.