The first note I purchased is turning into a joyride

13 Replies

So I’m new in the world of Notes but I feel the fog is starting to lift. The first one I purchased was supposedly a performing modified note in BK. Turns out the owners are deceased and the person who is claiming to be the owner is a relative and did not receive the house in probate. The mortgage is non assignable. So she has no business claiming it in BK and she had no business negotiating with previous lender on a modification. I bought this as a performing one (or so I thought) as I wanted to ease into this. But Ce la vie. But I’m learning and I’m cool with it all. It’s led me to a lawyer I’m very comfortable with. An insurance agent as I need to place forced insurance on it that I’m very happy with (and has been helpful overall about the business) and the servicer has been helpful. So those on the fence, it’s not for the faint of heart but jump in the water is warm :) Have a nice weekend everyone
Originally posted by @Daria B. :

@Robert Beryl

How was it in the due diligence none of this was found out?

Well apparently I didn’t do enough of it and or I did it wrong. I probably should have learned more before I bid but you know the old paralysis by analysis; so I jumped in and can’t say I regret it. I should say I had a bid on 5 assets approved and after DD I narrowed it down to this one. 

It did have someone helping me but, well here I am. I can weep and moan or learn and move forward. Just glad I used my own funds as if and when I’m ready to take on investors I don’t want to learn on their money. 

Originally posted by @Robert Beryl :
Originally posted by @Daria B.:

@Robert Beryl

How was it in the due diligence none of this was found out?