Resources for Learning About Tax Lien Investing

16 Replies

Hello!

I am new to real estate investing and am trying to learn as much as I can. I am currently part of a local mastermind group being led by an attorney and local broker/investor and get the opportunity of helping/shadowing the investor on a 'land flip' that he is working on. This month we were supposed to identify a couple of properties that 'should' be on the market but weren't (i.e. find a deal). My mom happens to work for the county Treasurer's office and told me about the "certificate of delinquency" that they had just filed that started the process of tax foreclosures for that year. I went to the superior court and got a copy of the case which included 70 parcels facing foreclosure. I am reading through the "Ultimate Beginner's Guide" from Bigger Pockets that mentioned tax liens can be complicated and require a lot of research, knowledge and experience. 

My questions are: What makes them complicated? And what are some good educational resources on the subject? 

Does anyone have any experience investing in tax liens? Where would you recommend a beginner to start? 

Many thanks! I deeply appreciate all the wisdom on this site!

Very tough from what I've found....so hopefully someone here will flush out some good resources.   Where are you?   What I've found is much of the learning is very state and maybe even local specific.  There may be some big general concepts, but the national guys that roll through are probably more trouble than help and excellent at taking your money, so be careful there.

There is the Tax Lien Lady I think in Ohio...guess she is still around.  She has good info.  There is a lady in Florida that teaches classes and seems good.