What criteria do you consider when qualifying notes?

12 Replies

Hi everyone,

My goal for the next 90 days is to buy my first note!

I'm transitioning from multifamily brokerage to note investing (hopefully full time in 2019). Though I've been in real estate for quite some time, I'm new to the world of notes. From what I'm hearing from local note investors, many of them focus on NPN acquired directly from hedge funds given the steady increase in foreclosures. I have spoken to a few seasoned note investors who will only buy seller financed performing notes even though those seem harder to come by. I'm open to both performing and non-performing notes for residential, MF and NNN and wanted to see how you narrow down which notes to seek.

I know everyone has their own preferences and strategies with qualifying notes so I'm hoping you'd be open to sharing whatever you're comfortable with.  For example, I recently spoke with a note investor with the following initial qualifiers: 

NPN / SFR / Current Market Value: $50K - $250K / 2 or 3 BD / min 880 SF / County Population: min 50,000 / Low Crime Rate

Any feedback or insight would be appreciated.  Thank you!

@CJ Lee

Everyone had their different criteria based on their experience and level of risk. As someone who also had a real estate background and got into notes I would suggest to start in single family and buy a performing note first. That way you learn some of the players and systems.

Three months of education is still a limited education and with NPN's you don't know what you don't know.

I don't think I'd advise purchasing your first note on a 3 month timeline. You didn't disclose what your education level in the note space is so presuming you're just starting out I don't think that's enough time to really get your bearings.