Hypothecate - loan notes

13 Replies

I have no experience with this company, but I did just download their Note Investing Playbook and their website have some nice claims to it:

Gardiner Capital Group

Actually, I'm sorry . . . I wasn't thinking of your question correctly.  I believe Gardiner, like most note companies, BUY notes rather than lending on them.

Originally posted by @Eli Konig :

Hi all, does anyone here know of A platform or an official bank (not individuals) that lends on the collateral of a loan note that you are holding?

Pacific Western Bank and Western Alliance Bank are 2 that I know of.  However the min loan size is $10M+ I believe.  Check with smaller regional banks that have an asset-backed lending program. 

@Eli Konig

What type of notes ? 1sts /2nds - owner occupied or non owner occupied?

The answers provide varying results but onset occupied you will have a very hard time finding a lender and Your best bet will be to find private investors.

If it’s a non owner occupied and shorter term some hard money lenders may buy it.

Also as Chad mentioned if it’s one note chances become even less, if you have a large portfolio chances may increase

@Eli Konig Hypothecating notes on a one-off basis is called note-on-note financing and is usually done with commercial mortgages just because the lender has to make the return worth the due diligence. I don’t know how low these go but I’m guessing a lender wouldn’t be interested until the upb of a note is somewhere above $1MM.

For financing portfolios of notes, the lower end of the market is very fragmented. I would call the lower end of the market a loan size under $20MM. When I say loan size I mean the loan from your lender. The lower end of the market is dominated by small banks and credit unions with a few non-bank financing companies sprinkled in. These lenders will typically be interested in hypothecation financing arrangements after establishing a relationship like with a deposit account.