Analysis 431 Lynnhurst Avenue W, Saint Paul, Minnesota

23 Replies

Hello guys, my name is Bruno Franco Netto, I'm a biggerpockets member and I'm also a real estate agent and investor in the Twin Cities area. I'm starting to use the Biggerpockets calculators to analyze deals and I would like to ask your opinion on one of those deals:

431 Lynnhurst Avenue W, Saint Paul

Built in 1885

4 Units, 2 Garage

$254,900 price

2 days on the market

I'm thinking about it in terms of making it a rental property house-hacking style with a 3.5% FHA loan, 4% interest, 30 years fixed.

My analysis is the following:

Expenses: 

Principal and Interest - $1175

Property Taxes - $415

Property Insurance - $100

Mortgage Insurance - $100

Utilities - $300

Vacancies - $265

Repairs and Maintenance - $132

Capital Expenditures - $132

Property Management fees - $265

Total Expenses - $2884

Income

Unit 1- $700

Unit 2- $525

Unit 3- $850

Unit 4- $575

Cashflow after moving out of the property and hiring property management company - negative $234

So basically according to my analysis this is not a great deal at the current price but I'm curious to see what you guys think about the analysis. 

thank you,

Bruno Franco Netto

I also ran numbers on this property a few weeks ago for 3.5% FHA and came up with very similar numbers except that I estimated property insurance at $225 and slightly higher mortgage insurance.

@Bruno Franco Netto Based on the numbers you presented I would not do that deal. As a side note, I do agree with Dustin above, insurance on a 4plex in MN is never $100/month.  I would guess it to range $150-$250, but something close to $170 would be typical.  Also in this market, those are very low rents.  I would suspect the place could either use a rehab or the units are just too small to be appealing.  I would recommend running a model that includes a rehab and what that would do for rents, most likely with a lower offer price.  Good Luck

Hey Bruno!