Who'se investing in Gastonia?

14 Replies | Charlotte, North Carolina

I've been looking at Gastonia and have read a few investor stories with great results there.

I'm not sure why it has such a bad rap compared to Concord/ the areas to the East of Charlotte. Is there a specific issue there or more of a overall reputation?

I've been looking in Gastonia as well, but haven't seen many deals yet to be honest. I'm finding price/rent ratio to be very similar to the other areas you mentioned. I did find a potential foreclosure, but ARV isn't high enough there to make it worth the investment (i.e. purchase price probably around 45-50k, but needed 20k in rehab. Recent comps are max 75). It might have worked as a rental, but the rental prices are not as predictable as they are in CLT. My agent thought it could rent for 900 or so, but everything else around there is renting closer to 750. I will be curious what others have to say, as I'm a newbie to investing :)

@Kelly Carter

How are you determining rents.  Are you relying on your agent or using other methods.  Determining rents is something I am struggling with.  I have used rentometer but you only get a few free evaluations per month.  I may have to sign up for the paid subscription.  Wondering if you have found any alternatives.