Unfamiliar with Franklinton area

4 Replies

I am an agent and working with a couple of investors that have expressed interest in this particular part of Columbus. I'm not as familiar with this area as much so as I am the northern arc. I've heard comparisons to the former Short North area, but also comparisons to the Linden area.

Your input is helpful and I thank you in advance.

What do you say about recent renovation has been going there? 

will it get tax benefits like sought orchards?

@Sam Cerreta There are 2 parts to Franklinton; East Franklinton and Franklinton. East Franklinton is basically from the river to 315 and has pretty much been bought up by all the big developers in town. Huge plans for this area that will change it completely and will be like a new Short North with retail and apartments and bars/restaurants. West of 315 is Franklinton and is still a rough area. Mt Carmel West sits right up against 315 and they have released plans to change their campus as most of it is going down to their Grove City location that is almost complete. So I would tell your investors to stay as close to the hospital and as East as they can for the next couple of years. Most would think with all that is happening in East Franklinton, Franklinton would also benefit, but the fact that a highway is dividing the two, who knows. 

Copying from another recent thread: