Skip to content
Cleveland Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Tyler Scruggs
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
Not a Home Run, But I am on Base: 2 units at 22!

Tyler Scruggs
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Posted Apr 11 2021, 21:45

Investment Info:

Buy & hold investment in a west-side of Cleveland, OH suburb (initially a house-hack). This property is a duplex with one 2 bedroom/1 bath unit, and one 3 bedroom/1 bath unit.

Purchase price: $191,000
Total Cash invested: $24,000
Total Monthly Payments: $1,155 (In year 6 when PMI drops off, it will be $1,084)

I graduated college in May 2020, and I purchased this house with intention of house-hacking for one year to live free in a desirable location. I planned to move out after living in the property for a year, and rent out both units with the intention of cash flowing. My goal is to accumulate more residential properties before scaling into larger multi-family.

What made you interested in investing in this type of deal?

I intend to start a real estate company, acquiring residential properties prior to scaling into commercial. I also wanted to take advantage of the lower down payment requirement on residential loans for small-multi families (2-4 units)

How did you finance this deal?

I financed this deal using a conventional mortgage with a 2.675% interest rate, and 10% down payment.

How did you add value to the deal?

I updated the property (DIY + Family/Friends) by removing existing wallpaper, painting over the previous green colored walls with a light grey color, painted the trim white, replaced kitchen cabinet handles, and purchased stainless steel appliances. I rented the upstairs unit (2 bed unit) to a painter and his wife, and he painted the upstairs unit light grey as well (for free and bought the paint!).

What was the outcome?