Multi Family Oklahoma City?

6 Replies | Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

I am looking at diving into the Oklahoma City market, and hopefully owning a few thousand units within the next year or two. I would love to talk to some people who know that region well. Real well. Looking around, it looks like 8% cap is the norm, so what do you consider good, or amazing deal in the value add space? And where and what should one stay away from in the region? I would love to jump on a call if anyone is interested.

I'm new to the game - live in Orange County, CA. My husband and I bought our first SFH in OKC last November and are about to close on our second one next week. Competition is fierce and most listings are off market within a day or two, with most offers being above asking price. I got lucky and found a great real estate agent through a referral. She knows the industry and geographic areas well, and works with many out of state clients. She responds to emails and texts quickly, gets out to visit properties quickly, will send videos or walk a property with you via FaceTime - she's awesome and knows her stuff! Her name is Sarah Taylor with Re/Max...good luck!

Well I hate to start out with a contradiction, but I gotta make sure you're understanding OKC well from the jumping in spot.

8% cap rate being normal is highly debatable and variable.

Depending on location, asset class, size, and other factors you'll see anything as low as high 5's and as high as 12%.  

However, you'll see most things advertised 1%-2.5% their actual cap rates, even though most brokers' claim their rates to be "actuals."

Caveat Emptor and all that, but it's all a loss if you start out with the wrong expectations.  So, I'd encourage you to get very granular about what type of asset you want to own here and then set expectations for cap rates and ConC return from that.  

Go out there and get it, Levi!

Originally posted by @Will Fraser :