Buy/hold in Philly suburbs or Delaware-advice for a newbie?

6 Replies | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

I am just starting out in REI and starting to practice looking and evaluating properties for sale on realtor.com. I know I won't find the best deals there, but without any experience doing this before, I think that is a good place to start looking?

Are there are any experienced buy/hold investors in this region who would be willing to offer some advice to the following two questions:

1. I live in West Chester PA and want to start local. I travel frequently to Newark, Delaware for work though, so my initial search area is the area west of I-476 in PA to Newark, DE. Southeast PA is much more expensive than Delaware. Am I better off concentrating on looking for my first purchase in Delaware due to affordability, or should I save more funds first to be able to afford a more expensive purchase in southeast PA?

2. I see that there is both a REIA in PA (DIG) and also one in DE (DelREIA). Both require memberships to participate in their meetings. For those who have participated in these groups, is one (DelCo or Chester DIG subgroup or New Castle DelREI) better suited for or more welcoming to a buy/hold newbie? I assume I should start with the REIA associated with the area I choose to invest in, which goes back to question 1?

Thanks!

Hi Steve, 

Question 1: While this all depends on what your goal is, I would personally go with DE. Easier to get in, bigger cash flow numbers, lower taxes, but there is less expectation for appreciation and Newark is more of a B-C area than PA which is an A area in my opinion. I am a cash flow guy so that is why I lean that way. If you are looking for more appreciation, better quality tenant, and are ok with the thing just floating itself until you can pay down the mortgage and realize the appreciation, then I would go PA.