Considering career change, looking for advice

3 Replies

Hey everyone, First time poster here, appreciate any responses. I moved to fishtown with my girlfriend in January and I like it a lot so far. I work in hospitality, which can mean brutal schedule/hours and a stressful and chaotic work environment. So, I’m thinking of ways to get out of it without taking 10 steps backwards and have always had a high interest in real estate. I’m interested in brokerage because of the rental market here and would love to eventually be able to invest in my own when I have the capital and more knowledge. I figured it made sense to get myself licensed, but I’m hoping some folks out there can give me some pointers on where to start, maybe even meet for a beer one day and chat about it. Thanks in advance for any help!

I'm a local agent/investor, I actually just helped someone get a house around Fishtown. If your looking for a less stressful career, i'm not sure that Real Estate is going to fit the bill- the process of getting a house from being on the market to sold can be exasperating. You have to work with the buyer and seller's bank, title companies, other agents (this one can be the worst often lol), home inspectors etc in order to bring a transaction to close. Mistakes they make can make your life immeasurable more difficult.

Also, you are starting a business, not just switching jobs.  It will cost about 2k to get started, and I would have enough saved to cover 6 months of expenses, which is often how long it takes to close your first deal.  You will spend a ton of time getting clients (through whichever way works for you, your business your rules).  Actually, you spend way more time trying to get clients than you do actually buying and selling houses, at least for the first couple of years.