Starting to Invest in Philadelphia

6 Replies

Hello All!

My name is Jake Pinto and I'm new to Bigger Pockets. I’m looking to start investing in Philadelphia (and surrounding areas). I've been able to save the capital needed to begin this process, and I'm seeking any tips or tricks for where to start.

In particular, I'm looking for rentals (single family or muli-family units), preferably using the BRRR method. Please comment below or reach out to me directly if you're open to having a conversation!

Thank you in advance!
Jake Pinto

@Jake Pinto Welcome to BP Community! I currently am investing in Philadelphia. I would probably start off with what you are looking to obtain in regards to an investment. Some areas in Philadelphia have more cash flow potential but less appreciation and vise versa. So determine what you want to make and just browse the mls constantly. Otherwise, try cold calling. I have not seen many good wholesale deals come through the philadelphia real estate facebook group.

Hey @Jake Pinto welcome to the community! I have to agree with @Anthony Zayas with saying you should establish your goals. What areas do you want to target, what kind of returns are you looking to make, your budget, level etc. 

I will say finding a multi (3+ units) I compare to being able to find a unicorn, very rare, but not impossible. The majority of the multi units I move are in Delco or up in Montco. Now a duplex is extremely doable to find in the city, it would just depend what pockets you're looking in. I will say the majority of the good deals don't make it to the MLS and more often then not go off market.

I would love to have a conversation to discuss your interests so feel free to reach out.

Dan Powers - Real Estate Agent

Jake,