Duplex, Central A/C Installation~ Tis the season

12 Replies | Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Hello all, happy memorial day weekend~!

Am looking for insights on installing Central A/C and possible recommendations for a landlord-friendly HVAC company. I understand window a/c units are affordable and prevalent in much of our area... Call me young and idealistic, but it's 2018 folks and for my business I would like to strive for centralized A/C if I can get it done reasonably :-).

Here are the property specs! This is a purpose built up/down brick duplex from the 60's.

Currently the property has two identical goodman 95% efficiency forced air furnaces (mfg 09') - so no duct-work needs run. Each unit is 864 sq. ft. and I've been told by some HVAC companies that a 1.5 TON system would suit each unit very well. Now I'm not an expert, but the scope of work seems to be something like the following:

• A-Coil
  • Condensers + concrete pads + copper lines
  • 220 electrical ran to said condensers + breakers (my panel does have room in it)
  • Charge system with coolant (needs to be done by licensed professional, understood)
  • Run wire for thermostats (no new thermostats needed - have been upgraded and are compatible)

I'm getting quotes upwards of $6k. Is that reasonable? Sounds like a lot for this job... I would think there are some operational efficiencies installing two systems at one property that are sitting beside each other? One guy even told me he can't break down parts & labor on the quote, so I don't know how they are coming up with these numbers. Is this a normal thing? Sounds like bull to me.

From my list above I figure I could buy the components retail, not wholesale, retail for about $2500 total (two(2) systems). Appreciate the thoughts!

/r

-Ben S.

It does sound like a lot. I got a quote recently for 6-8K INCLUDING ductwork. I’d ask around more.