Votes
Michael Wolffs
  • New York City, NY
Votes |
New rental development in Pittsburgh make sense

Michael Wolffs
  • New York City, NY
Posted May 27 2020, 14:19

I've bought four properties in Pittsburgh already. Noting in he core area of the city, and all older properties. I'd like to get properties in better areas more in play with the economic development (near the colleges and / or hospitals.  Thinking Lawrenceville, Greenfield, Squirrel Hill, maybe Oakland.  Finding properties in these areas hasn't been easy.  Little inventory and high prices compared to rents.

However, thanks to Pittsburgh's post industrial wasteland days, some of these areas have a number of empty infill lots that look somewhat prime for development.  But I've never done this before, and am not local.  Has Pittsburgh come back enough that developing new multifamily rental properties makes sense.  Is the city friendly to this?  In general do the numbers work to the point where it makes sense?  Has anyone here built multifamily in Pittsburgh?

Any help appreciated.

User Stats

Votes
Kesete Thompkins
  • Investor
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Pittsburgh, PA
Replied Jun 12 2020, 15:56

@Michael Wolffs I understand exactly what you are seeing and thinking regarding the development play in Pittsburgh. I'm born and raised and invested in Pittsburgh, and I think that there is potential for that type of development in the more expensive areas. There are condos popping up throughout Pittsburgh (Northside, Southside, Strip District, East Liberty, etc..) so you'll definitely have high-end competition. 

In regards to some of those 'rougher' areas that have a lot of land available, the housing inventory and rents in most of those neighborhoods make that a bad investment in my opinion. 

User Stats

Votes
Michael Wolffs
  • New York City, NY
Votes |
  • New York City, NY
Replied Jun 12 2020, 16:52