Better areas to invest in the Greater Memphis, TN area

39 Replies

Hey everyone. I am looking for the better areas of Memphis, TN to consider investing in SFR as well as multi-family. I am an agent in the Clarksville, TN area but prices here are starting to get into the Nashville nose bleed arena since so many people move to Nashville and discover how expensive it is. I would appreciate your views, recommendations and insights. Thanks in advance.

Guess it depends on what one considers better areas. To me a few areas come to mind: Bartlett, Cordova, East Memphis, Lakeland and Arlington.  Then there are much nicer areas like Germantown and Collierville.  

Depending on what price range you are looking for, this could be many areas.

Hello Monty, I have a Investing map of Memphis that breaks down the areas that I can share with you.

Thanks for the feedback.  I would appreciate getting the map from you James.  It would be helpful.  As for price range, that can be subjective though in my area, I would be looking at $100k - $150k for rentals.  Above that, it's hard to cover all your cost and have good positive cash flow.  As for mults, here most 4 plexs rent in the $500-600 range per month and sell for between $250-$300k.  How does those numbers compare with the areas of Memphis you have all been mentioning?  I have heard recently that things in Memphis have been variable but without real explanations.  Thanks.

Hey @Monty Powers I think it’s a smart move to take advantage of the Memphis market while you still can!

With your price range, depending on if you plan to buy turnkey or not, you’d be able to pick up some decent cash flow in B areas like 38135, 38141, 38117 and 38125. You could possibly get in some pockets of A areas like 38016. 

You can fetch similar returns in C+ areas like 38116, 38115 (certain areas) 38122, and pockets of 38128.