Investors - What Lender do you use?

39 Replies | Houston, Texas

Hi all,

I'm a realtor and investor in the Houston area and i currently have 1 rental home which i purchased around 2 years ago. With my ~800 credit score,I was able to secure a conventional investment property 30 year loan via a credit union @ 4.25% interest rate with 25% down and 0 points. 

I am ready to purchase my second rental (still searching for the home) but i have been looking at lenders for another investment property loan. With 20% down, the best i have come across is another credit union offering me 5% 30 year conventional 0 points. Its pretty difficult to find good cash flow with such high rate? 

At this point, i'm really considering transitioning from renting to just buying a primary residence home and renting rooms since i can get a 3.25% 30 year conv....

Anyone have another lender who they would recommend that can beat this 5% for investment property? Or any other good options to use as loan?

I’m looking for 3% on primary residence with zero down, no points, no pmi, no escrow. Is it impossible to find a lender even if it is zero risk for them, simply because they can find someone else who will pay more?

I got 0.9% with zero down on a new car, but of course car is different than house (although they are both depreciating liabilities).

Updated over 2 years ago

@daniel Alfaro What are the terms for 3.25% on 30-yr conventional - downpayment, points, pmi, escrow?

Hit up Graham Parham @ Highlands mortgage. He and his team are the best. And, my two cents... 5% is a killer rate. Pick a different market if your deals don’t work. Your interest rate won’t make a bad deal a win. If you’re making your buying decisions over a rate, you’re in the wrong game. 

Promotion
Obie Insurance
Coverage for your rental
Get a quote for your rental property in 2 minutes or less.
Save on landlord insurance. A transparent, simple, and affordable way to protect your investment.
Start Saving